Advertisements

How to delete your Venmo account and get a copy of your transaction history beforehand

  • 0

How to delete your Venmo account and get a copy of your transaction history beforehand

Category : entrepreneur

how to do everything tech banner

  • To delete a Venmo account, you’ll need a desktop computer or a device with access to a browser, since the company doesn’t allow you to delete your account from the app. 
  • Before deleting your Venmo account, make sure to download a copy of your transaction history for your own personal records, and transfer your Venmo balance to your bank account. 
  • Visit Business Insider’s homepage for more stories.

Venmo doesn’t allow its users to delete an account through its app, but you can do so via a desktop computer, or through your preferred mobile browser. 

Be sure to download a copy of your transaction history before you delete your account, since it’ll be erased along with the rest of your data. And if you have any money in your Venmo wallet, transfer it to your bank account. 

Here’s how to delete a Venmo account

1. Launch your preferred browser and go to https://venmo.com. 

2. Sign in using your email, phone number, or username and password. If you’ve enabled two-factor identification, enter the pin sent to your phone number or email address. 

3. Once you’ve signed in, select “Settings” from the menu at the top-right hand corner. 

Delete1

Select “Settings” from the menu at the top of the screen.
Meira Gebel/Business Insider

4. Scroll to the bottom of the page and select “Close My Venmo Account.” If you haven’t already, be sure to transfer your Venmo balance to your bank account by going to “Manage Balance,” and then “Transfer to Bank.”

Delete2

Near the bottom of the page, select “Close My Venmo Account.”
Meira Gebel/Business Insider

5. Here you can download your transaction history by selecting “Download CSV.” Once you’ve done that, select “Next” under “Closing your Venmo account.” 

Delete3

Download your transactions and then select “Next.”
Meira Gebel/Business Insider

6. In the pop-up, make sure you’ve downloaded your transactions and then select “Next.” 

7. A final page will load to make sure you want to close your account. If so, select “Close Account.” Venmo will then send you a confirmation email, letting you know your account is deleted. 

Delete4

In the pop-up menu, click “Next.”
Meira Gebel/Business Insider

Related coverage from How To Do Everything: Tech:

  • ‘Does Venmo work internationally?’: No, you must be physically located in the US — here’s what you need to know

  • There’s a limit on your Venmo transactions — here’s how much money you can send and receive with each account type

  • How to receive money on Venmo and transfer funds to a connected bank account

  • ‘How does the Apple Card work?’: A guide to using Apple’s new credit card and its features

Advertisements

About Author

Sammy Singh

Global VC, Founder, and entrepreneur extraordinaire as featured in Inc. Magazine, Bloomberg, and Forbes. Sammy Singh is a graduate of UCLA and Wharton School of Business as well as a former student of Loyola University of Chicago. Sammy is best known as a renowned financial technology global entrepreneur and has founded over 26 different firms across industry and all over the world. He is a venture capitalist,a TV/ Film actor, tax specialist, and marketing solutions strategist. Connect with Sammy Singh on social media below! www.linkedin.com/in/cfo www.instagram.com/champagnegqpapi www.facebook.com/officialsammysingh www.twitter.com/cxosynergy www.medium.com/@sammysingh www.crunchbase.com/sammysingh

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.